Friday, July 25, 2008

Ms. Conway Strikes Again!!

No real picture yet, but this is a fairly good cartoon depiction, minus the bun. The shoes perfect though!!!

Well, as you have all been waiting for, we have yet another adventure with the infamous Ms. Conway. It seems that she called Brandon Thursday - lucky guy that he is!! He had a rough day at work since it was the day that his team had training that included being sprayed with pepper spray. He got home around 11:30 and his phone rang within a half and hour. He let it go to voicemail and decided he would call her in a little bit. He reevaluated putting off the return call for fear that she would end up on the front porch sooner or later. So he called her and in a conversation consisting of 31 minutes and some odd seconds he said he was able to get about 5 sentences in. Not surprising at all. Well, it seems that there was a little bit of an accident at the end of our street that day and she wanted to know if he saw it or knew anything about it. Course none of that got discussed until the lecture for what the 5th time about how terrible it is that we don't have a Virginia number. Feel like we have heard that one before!!! It seems that somone drove into the ditch real early that morning, and she couldn't wait to tell him that she just got on her housecoat and slippers and went down there in the dark to see what was going on. I can only imagine what the people involved thought when they saw this little old woman in her housecoat and slippers wandering down the street. I am sure they got a good talking too about drivig to fast etc. Well, she also had to tell Brandon all about the fact that the guy who used to live in our house (David) came to visit. And she just couldn't wait to tell David that some, get this.....are you ready....."Yankees" moved into the house. Okay, I am sick of being referred to as a Yankee already. Especially when I am from Red Sox country! Well, it got better. Not only are we "Yankees" but we are not your typical "Yankee". You see she promptly informed David that "Brandon was especially not a typical Yankee, you know." He is not "Snobby like most of those Yankees". Hmmmm, so, Brandon is not, but does that mean I am??? Because if it does, that racks up my compliment count with Ms. Conway. You see not only am I a "snobby Yankee" I am also a member of the "stuffy Episcopal church". Keep going lady, you just keep getting better and better. Well, Brandon tried his hardest to set her straight. But she wouldn't let him speak. He said all I wanted to do was tell her that I was from Tennessee, but she wouldn't stop talking over me. So believe it or not, the whole Northern Yankee stigma still exists in the south. But why do I have to be called something that refers to our biggest Red Sox rival?? It's just not fair. I am thinking about bumping up my Yankee-like quality, maybe if I get too snobby I will be freed from future shopping trips. What do you think????

No comments: